Monday, July 13, 2009

Odd Girl Out

I just finished reading Odd Girl Out by Rachel Simmons. This book is amazing. It discusses the culture of aggresion in girls and how it is so much different then that of boys. It made me confront and think about times when I was young when I was bullied by girls and times I may have done it myself. I would recommend this book to ANYONE with a girl of their own. Please read it!!

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

No A/C

Well yesterday was a very hot day. We woke up that morning and the house felt stuffy. Come to find out the A/C had stopped working. Well Mike had to go to work so it would have to wait til he got home to be fixed. The morning wasn't too bad even though the house was heating up fast. Come afternoon it was cooler outside then in the house, so the kiddos and I played out side most of the afternoon. When Mike came home from a long day of work he started working on it. So 4hours, a billion mosquito bites, two runs to town to get parts, and a frustrating 1/2hour looking for the mysterious breaker that we couldn't find (eventually we did) my amazing honey got it working. Not only am I in awe that he knows how to fix stuff that to me seems incomprehensible, but he worked so hard on it after a full day of work and never once snapped at anyone or was grouchy. Anyways I just wanted to tell everyone how proud of him I am, and much more cooler.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

3 am wakeup

Don't you just love it when your kid gets randomly sick? And I am not talking about, "little Sue has a cough" or "Tommy has strep". The random sick I am talking about is the kind where the kid comes running into the room yelling I JUST THREW UP!!! First of all, running, come on you just threw up your previous lunch dinner and snack, all over the place, and yet you have the energy to run now? How about running to the bathroom before you redistributed you stomach contents? And why do they always sound excited about it. I would use that same tone if I won the lottery, but they just seem excited about throwing up. The biggest kicker, though, is that all this 99% of the time occurs at around 3am in the morning. (side note: the other 1% happens when your driving down the freeway) Your laying in bed asleep and trying to ignore the hollering child until the words Threw Up come out. Yeah then your butt starts moving... First to the child trying to check if they have any on them. If they don't thank God, if they do.... sorry charlie. Then the dash to their bedroom, all the while hoping your bare feet don't land in something... Then the amazement that your child could possibility have held that much food in their stomach... Then the clean up and alternate sleeping arrangements. By the time all that is done the child in question has fallen asleep in the chair they were assigned so they wouldn't track around the stuff. So not only have you been woken up, cleaned up nasty upon nasty, now you have to carry their butt to bed, and I am sure it is fact that kids gain 10lbs while they are asleep and needing to be carried at 3am. As you tuck your angel back into bed, and stagger off to your own bed, hoping you don't have any on you. You finally slide into your bed and sigh with relief and happen to glance at the clock and realize you have about 2hours left to sleep before you have to get up.... CONGRATS you are a parent.

Saturday, April 25, 2009

For a visit

Hey all I just wanted to let you know that I am coming to Washington for a visit in May. It is just for a visit, Mike and I decided that now would be the best time for me to visit, with him starting school again soon. If you want more specific dates email me and I will let you know. I am so excited it isn't even funny, although I am nervous about missing Mike and the girls. Anyways I just wanted to let you all know. I love you all and miss you but will see you soon.

Saturday, April 11, 2009

First Wee Ball Game

Well Chloe had her first Wee Ball game last night. It was one of the most entertaining sports event that I have ever watched. By the time they finally got all of the 4year olds on each team in their positions at least 3 were crying. Including the catcher on our team who was so upset she was bawling as she circled home plate. At this point Mike leans over and whispers "There's no crying in Baseball!" lol Once everyone got calmed down, (which I suspect bribes played a big part in that) the game could begin. One little boy got up to bat and hit the ball off the tee for about 5 ft. Aparently that wasn't good enough for him because he ran out there and picked the ball up before the fielders could and put it back on the tee to try again. Then there was the spontaneous soccer game that started between the third baseman (my Chloe), the short stop, 2 runners, and the coach who was trying to pick up the baseball the kids were using as a soccer ball. And lets not forget the poor little 2nd baseman crossing her legs and hoping up and down ten minutes into the game holaring that she needed to pee, NOW! All in all the kids had a lot of fun and the parents laughed their heads off and the coaches went home and took a couple valium. Good times Good times

Hunting Eggs


















Well on Friday we had an Easter egg hunt with the girls, since we won't have them for Easter itself. They both did really good and had alot of fun. They hunted for real eggs and plastic ones that had chocolate inside. The only problem with the chocolate was that in the 20min that the eggs were outside some of the chocolate melted in our 80 degree weather... lol oh well I guess next year I know to use jelly beans instead. Anyways the girls had alot of fun, almost as much fun as Mike and I did hiding the eggs hehe.

Friday, April 10, 2009


The girls got to paint Easter Eggs today!! They had alot of fun doing the eggs and almost as much fun running around in Daddy's shirts...lol

Saturday, April 4, 2009



Hey I thought everyone might like to see some pics. Chloe started Wee Ball and has so much fun.

Saturday, March 28, 2009

Monsters Vs Aliens

Went and saw Monsters Vs Aliens last night and I just wanted everyone to know it was an awesome movie. We all had alot of fun with it. Great for kids and adults.

Monday, March 23, 2009



Easter Dresses!!! Here are the dresses I made the girls for Easter this year. Hailey wanted something that looked grown up and Chloe just wanted a pretty dress. They both seem really happy with their dresses.

Thursday, March 12, 2009

A lesson I learned

Ok I learned a lesson this week about why it is important to have good communication with your partner. Here's my little lesson.... I make peanut butter cookies with Hershey kisses in the middle for Mike. They are "his" cookies. He always gets his own little container of them when I make them that no one else is allowed to touch. Well on Monday he was going on about how good the pin wheel cookies he bought at the store were soooo good, and he didn't want to run out. I told him that he had his peanut butter cookies still. He said that he liked the pin wheel cookies better. Well my feelings were pretty crushed on hearing that although I didn't say anything. The next day I ate his remaining PB cookies while he was at work thinking to myself, "fine if he doesn't like them then I am not going to let them sit there". Then last night I come to find out that when he said he liked the pinwheels better than the PB's he was refering to the PB&J cookies we bought for the girls NOT the PB cookies I made him. Well at that point I had to guiltily admit that I had eaten his PB cookies..... Yeah so he is out "his" cookies and I feel bad for eating them... This is why its important to have good communication, a batch of cookies could be at stake.....
Ok the cat is driving me crazy!!! This morning when I wouldn't pet her after I got out of the shower she bit my ankle. Then she was running around like a psycho this morning anything she could knock down she would do it. Then this afternoon I walked into my bedroom to find that she had decimated an entire roll of toilet paper!! It was in shreds all over my bed room floor!!! She still doesn't have a name but I am thinking that crack head would be good....

Monday, March 9, 2009

Well it has been one of those ugh can I just start over type of mornings.... started at about 3am when the cat decided that any movement we made under the covers was an invitation to attack. Not only was she attacking but she started making weird noises too. I should have suspected something was up at that point. Well 5:50am rolls around and although the last thing I want to do is get up I decide to do the responsible thing and get going.... as I roll over to shut off my alarm my leg rolls into something wet. Remember those noises the cat had been making? She threw up on my side of the bed and I rolled over into it at 6am this morning!!! After much grumbling, and even waking Mike up to tell him, I know I could have waited to wake him up but I decided that he needed to share my misery right then. Once I got him off to work I stripped the bed grabbed some extra covers and went back to sleep till 9am, which I am gonna blame on cat throw up recovery time...... Anyways heres hoping the rest of my day goes better.....

Thursday, March 5, 2009

Keeping this up

Well I guess I haven't been doing such a great job keeping this blog up to date, I promise I will do better. Honestly there haven't been any huge changes for us lately. Hailey lost one of her molars the other day and was really excited, I on the other hand was sick to my stomach, it was a bleeder. lol The tooth fairy brought her 5dollars, which I blame on inflation, I remember being amazed at getting 1 dollar.... Chloe is doing good, growing up so fast and talking even faster. She constantly asks me if she can go see her friend Eve. We went to our first story time at the library yesterday and she thought it was cool but didn't understand why no one else clapped after every story. Mike is doing good, besides having a run in at work with a man hole cover. It scraped up his shin pretty bad but didn't damage too much else, just sore. I am doing good. Just kind of running things and keeping things in order. Looking forward to some alone time with Mike this weekend. I did finish the girls' spring dress and hopefully I will have pictures posted very soon. I miss you all!!!!

Tuesday, January 27, 2009

update

Well I suppose I should write you all an update. On the 23rd of Jan. Dusti's family left. I spent all day on that day with them and it was alot of fun. Saying goodbye was a bit rough but the kids handled it much better than I did, but I patted myself on the back for not crying in front of them. lol All in all I have handled it much better than I thought I would. Sure there have been moments where I feel sad but those tend to pass pretty quickly. On a funny note, after moving in a unpacking I have realized that I do not own a rotary cutter, mat, or ruler. I have always used moms or dusti's. All of you quilters out there share my pain. lol. Well that is all I have for today. Hope all are doing well.

Thursday, January 22, 2009

Tommorrow is when Dusti and Scotts family heads north. I think it is hitting me pretty hard tonight. I have managed not to think about it most of today, (thank you mom and keely), but not working anymore. Well just wanted to write a short update. Might try and update tommorrow but am pretty much going to be a zombie. I love you all.

Monday, January 19, 2009

Saying Goodbye

Well today we are heading out to the temporary lodging site that Dusti and Scott are staying at before they head north. They are all out of their house now. Mike and I and the girls will be going out there today for a BBQ. The girls decorated cupcakes. They will be saying goodbye to Dusti's kids, who they have only known for a short time but have become friends with. This won't be the last time I see them but it will be the last time we have a good long visit. While I look ahead down the path I have chosen I am so happy and excited, yet I am still going to miss Dusti and Scotts family so much.

Monday, January 12, 2009

A New Chapter

Well I am starting a new chapter in my life today. Yesterday I officially was moved into Mike's house. Although I can already name five things that I have left at Dusti's house. lol Anyways I am finding myself a little adrift today. I woke up and with Mike and got him and Hailey out the door this morning. Then (shhh don't tell) went back to bed for an hour. Hey, it was 6am and I am a weeny when it comes to sleep. I woke up and decided to face the day, which ment figuring out which box I had packed my work around the house pants into. Of course it was the last box I opened. After finally getting that out of the way I decided to tackle the house work for the day. Got that done. Now it comes to the hard part. I need to unpack, honestly navigating around boxes not so fun. I didn't even think about this but now my major problem is figuring out how to blend our stuff together. I was planning on getting all the unpacking done during the days this week but now I realize Mike is gonna need to be here for it. I know he won't mind, but I had hoped to just get it done. So now that I have to wait for him I am adrift. At least I can do laundry to keep me busy.
Anyways this whole experience is going to be one of learning, I can see that right now. Hopefully I can survive with grace...lol sure... I am very happy right now though and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
So keep an eye out for more of my adventures in figuring this all out.